Is Alabama a No-Fault State?
There are two main types of car insurance systems in the United States: no-fault systems and fault-based systems. There are key differences between them, so it’s important to understand which system your state follows and what options you may have to seek compensation after a car accident. Keep reading to learn more about Alabama’s liability insurance laws and why fault matters when you’re filing a claim.
What Is the Difference Between Fault and No-Fault States?
Roughly a dozen states have adopted no-fault insurance systems, which are designed to help lower car insurance rates by reducing the number of accident-related claims that end up in court. In a no-fault system, each party’s insurance provider is typically expected to pay for accident-related medical costs regardless of who was at fault.
No-fault systems allow accident victims to recover the money they need to pay for minor injuries quickly without having to prove the other driver was at fault. However, no-fault systems also typically prevent victims from suing negligent drivers unless the severity of their injuries meets certain thresholds. This can make it more difficult to obtain fair compensation for car accident injuries.
The majority of states have fault-based auto insurance systems. In a fault-based system, drivers who are responsible for car accidents are considered financially responsible for the damage they cause. Drivers in at-fault states are typically required to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance providers pay for the costs of any injuries or other damage caused by their policyholders.
Compensation from a third-party liability insurance claim against an at-fault driver is only available up to the limits of the at-fault driver’s insurance policy. If an accident victim in a fault-based state cannot obtain fair compensation from a liability insurance claim, they have the right to seek compensation in court by filing a personal injury lawsuit.
Is Alabama a No-Fault State?
No. Alabama is not a “no-fault state”, Alabama uses a fault insurance system. This means you have the right to demand compensation in a third-party insurance claim if you are injured in a car accident caused by an at-fault driver. Depending on the circumstances, you may be entitled to reimbursement for your accident-related medical bills, vehicle repair expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
What Is the Minimum Amount of Alabama Auto Insurance I Have to Carry?
In Alabama, all registered motorists are required to maintain mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage on their vehicles equal to:
- $25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for death or bodily injury to more than one person
- $25,000 or damage or destruction of property
This mandatory insurance covers damages stemming from accidents caused by their negligence.
What Happens If You Share Fault in a Car Accident?
If the other driver alleges you were partially at fault in a car accident, Alabama’s negligence laws could make it difficult to obtain fair compensation for your losses.
Alabama has a “pure contributory negligence” doctrine in place, which prevents you from recovering any money for your losses if you contributed to the accident in any way. If the other driver or their insurance company can show that you were even one percent responsible for an Alabama car accident, you could be legally barred from financial recovery and forced to pay out-of-pocket for your own losses.
This is why it’s so important to work with a knowledgeable car accident attorney who can protect your rights and demonstrate the other driver’s liability.
Call Our Attorneys for Help Getting the Compensation You Deserve
When you need a car accident lawyer in Alabama, look no further than Stokes Stemle, LLC. Our experienced attorneys can help you navigate Alabama’s insurance system and demand the compensation you deserve after an Alabama car crash. Get in touch with us to learn more in a free initial consultation.